Celebrating Love Life and Unity
Call today for your free, no obligation phone consult.
Save the date with Reverend West
Marriage License Information
To be married in Oregon State, you may apply at any county court house in Oregon.
To be married in Washington State, you must obtain a marriage license from the county you will be married in.
Washington and Oregon both have a three day waiting period after you apply. See details below.
In Vancouver Wa, Clark County, the license fee of $64 is a nonrefundable fee due at the time of application.
~CASH ONLY~ Checks and Credit Cards are NOT accepted.
Clark County Auditors Office
1300 Franklin St, 2nd Floor
Vancouver, WA 98666-5000
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (360)397-2208 or (360)397-2243
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8 am - 4:30 pm, Wednesday 9 am - 4:30 pm
~ Both applicants must be present to apply.
~ Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age or older and must have a current photo ID as proof of age.
~ Applicants who are 17 years of age must be accompanied by one parent or legal guardian who can provide consent.
~ Applicants under the age of 17 must receive permission from the Family Court.
~ Applicants do not have to be residents of the State of Washington to obtain a marriage license.
~ The license is only valid for weddings that are performed within the state of Washington.
~ Proof of divorce from a previous spouse, or death of a spouse, is not required to obtain a
marriage license. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the final decree.
~ Blood tests and physical exams are not required to obtain a marriage license.
~ Same sex marriages are legally recognized in the States of Washington and Oregon.
A three (3) day waiting period begins the first day AFTER you apply for your license and ends the third (3) day following the day of application. In example: If you obtain your license on Monday, the first day you can legally be wed is the following Friday. The license is valid for sixty (60) days beginning on the 3rd day after your application.
Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state laws requires that at least two witnesses
be present at the ceremony - who are over the age of 18. I do not provide witnesses.
The Gin Marriage Law
Requires a waiting period of 3 days between applying for a marriage license and marrying. This law was passed in several states in the 1930s.
As the Prohibition-era, sparked women's groups into moral panic over couples getting married while drunk. In 1927, *The Pittsburgh Press (1) said,
"It was believed that a three-day cooling off would temper the ardor of unruly impetuous maids and swains."*
~ Oh My ! ~